My Life: The Good

635923867198434344-1263945881_9009345
Image via Odyssey

The textbook, Communication ethic Literacy (2009) says the good is the valued center of a given communication ethics (Arnett, Bell, & Fritz, p. 3).Every communication ethics carries or reflects two sorts of related goods. One being a substantive good that wants to protect or promote. And the other being a set of communication practices that assures active  protection and promotion of a given good (Arnett, Bell & Fritz, 2009, p. 4).

At this time in my life, my good is within dialogic communication ethics. Which required me to learn about the goods of self and others that myself and others seek to protect and promote.

To further explain, the summer between my freshman year and sophomore year of college, my maternal grandparents passed away due to cancer. It was definitely a shock and a very life changing moment for me. I literally spent majority of my sophomore year crying in my dorm room because I couldn’t bare the thoughts of not having my grandparents around.

After finally accepting their deaths, my good became donating to the American Cancer Society. I figured by me donating, I could at least contribute to finding a cure for cancer. Finding a cure for cancer could help save lives and prevent others from going through the crucial pain I went through. My related good is knowing I am helping people.

While good for me is orchestrating multiple fundraisers for the American Cancer Society, others may find their good is donating money at fast food restaurants when the restaurants claim they’re going to donate the money to research for finding a cure for cancer.

It never sat well with me when I would go into a restaurant and I would see, “For every large beverage you purchase (which cost $2), we’ll donate $.50 to finding a cure for cancer.” My first thoughts were “Why not donate the whole two dollars to finding a cure?”. In my opinion, restaurants were taking advantage of people’s good. Then I had to put my opinion to the side and really think:

  1. Say something and expose the restaurants for trying to gain revenue by using a sensitive, personal topic such as cancer.

OR

 2. Realizing my good is not everyone’s good. Even if someone does purchase a $2 beverage, at least $.50 is going to research for cancer. Which contributes to my goal.

11420525-the-words-cure-cancer-in-strands-of-dna-representing-the-importance-of-breakthrough-medical-research
Image via 123RF

Overall, I came to the relaxation that good is determined by the individual or organization. There is no right or wrong when it comes to someone’s goods.

Author: Dekira Hemingway

Twenty-three | Travel Addict | Queens University of Charlotte graduate student

Leave a Reply

