My Reality: My Narrative

 

jos-protest-1024x689
Image via Reuters

 

A narrative provides guidelines for human action (Arnett, Bell, & Fritz, 2009, p. 37). Communication Ethics Literacy (2009) also states that humans are essentially storytellers (Arnett, Bell, & Fritz, p. 38). My reality is my narrative….let me explain!

Since I am an African American young lady, people automatically think I must fear police officers. WHY…you asked? Because America makes cops out to be the bad guys. Multiple views of oughtness guide multiple understandings of the good, resulting in a multiplicity of communication ethic (Arnett, Bell, & Fritz, 2009, p. 38). Therefore, don’t get me wrong, I don’t think cops are angels, however, I don’t think all of them are bad neither. I do feel sympathy for the families of Walter Scott, who was gunned down for running and Trayvon Martin, who was an innocent kid walking home with a pack of skittles and an Arizona tea. We in the African American community can’t let those shooting between African American males and police officers guide our thoughts for how we believe all officers are.

Since our communication ethics action comes from an understanding of the good, it is persuasive (Arnett, Bell, & Fritz, 2009, p. 40). That’s why I take time to explain to others in the African American community that we have to find the good in every situation. For every time a cop is killing someone, there is another cop helping someone. No, the good doesn’t replace the bad, but it helps. I can honestly make that statement from my personal experience. My uncle Danny is one of the best officers I know. When someone needs help, he’s willing to go up and beyond for that individual. So no, I can not say each and every cop is bad.

 

tumblr_nn3smkw7cz1rr5t33o1_1280
Image via Tumblr

 

A narrative serves to protect and promote a given sense of good (Arnett, Bell, & Fritz, 2009, p. 38). Overall, I feel I am protecting the good of not all cops are bad. As a African American woman, I wake up in the morning, I get dressed, and I leave for work not fearing that I will be injured or killed by a cop. That’s my reality…that’s my narrative.

Works Cited

Arnett, R., Bell, L., & Fritz, J. (2009). Communication Ethics Literacy (10th ed.). SAGE Publications, Inc. (ISBN-13: 978-1412942140).

Author: Dekira Hemingway

Twenty-three | Travel Addict | Queens University of Charlotte graduate student

Leave a Reply

