Using Communication Ethics Literacy

istock_000012880248xsmall
Image via PralState

Over the last seven weeks, I have had the opportunity to learn about communication ethics literacy. Now that I have enhanced my knowledge of communication ethics literacy, I am able to apply it to my everyday life, such as in my workplace, my home, and my community.

Communication Ethics Literacy Dialogue and Differences states people have diverse means of engaging data and new ideas (Arnett, R., Bell, L., & Fritz, J., 2009, p. 212). While I understand that my opinion and way of thinking is important, I must understand that people have their own ways of thinking. For example, my mom thinks she need to decorate for Christmas the day after Thanksgiving, however, me on the other hand thinks someone should not decorate for Christmas until two weeks before December 25th. With Communication ethics literacy, I think it is important that I respect her thoughts as well as she respect mine. Therefore, we should be able to come to a mutual understanding for an appropriate time to decorate for Christmas .

While Christmas is the topic at home, politics is still the topic in my workplace. Dialogue requires that one know the ground from which one speaks, meet the other with a willingness to learn, and learn about the ground from which the other’s discourse emerges (Arnett, R., Bell, L., & Fritz, J., 2009, p. 223). We all should understand that not everyone will have the same view as us when it comes to politics. Even though politics should not be discussed at work (in my opinion), I still keep an open mind when it comes to my co-workers discussing it. I may not agree with some of the presidential parties beliefs, however, if my co-workers present a compelling argument for one of them, I listen. Conversations begin when we our willing to engage our own ground and meet that of another, no matter how much we contend with a given stance  (Arnett, R., Bell, L., & Fritz, J., 2009, p. 224). Therefore, when I listen to my co-workers point of view, I expect them to listen to mine.

In community, I feel one of the most common issue is people trying to force a different religion on their neighbor or friend. Dialogue hides when we demand that another vacate the ground that offers meaning and vision for a given standpoint (Arnett, R., Bell, L., & Fritz, J., 2009, p. 224). Therefore, I don’t attempt to change someone’s mind about their religion. The textbook states the reality of crisis communication continues to warn us that we cannot assume that the other necessarily think or act as we deem correct (Arnett, R., Bell, L., & Fritz, J., 2009, p. 214). Someone’s religion is apart of them, and it is not easy to change. People are meant to think differently….it’s life.

communication-group-1940x900_35361
Image via Inc

Overall, communication ethics is the call to learn about differing views of the good assumed by differing positions (Arnett, R., Bell, L., & Fritz, J., 2009, p. 213). Our lives revolve around using communication ethics literacy to our advantage when engaging in conversations with others.

References

Arnett, R., Bell, L., & Fritz, J. (2009). Communication Ethics Literacy (10th ed.). SAGE Publications, Inc. (ISBN-13: 978-1412942140).

Author: Dekira Hemingway

Twenty-three | Travel Addict | Queens University of Charlotte graduate student

Leave a Reply

