Oral Presentation: Applying Theory to Practice

For my Oral Presentation:  Applying Theory to Practice in my Communication 613 course, I learned a lot about American sociologist, Peter Berger’s theory and how to apply it to situations, such as Black Lives Matter. Berger believes that communication and language do not mirror reality, rather, they create the social reality. However, language does not describe the reality but is itself a form of action (Heide, 2009, p. 54). I am an African-American young lady, so of course, Black Lives Matter protest affect me. I have family members, as well, as friends who are big supporters of Black Lives Matter. Therefore, the topic of Black Lives Matter protest often comes up in conversations. According to Berger, things are not what they seem; reality has layers of meaning. The hallmark of sociological consciousness is its ability to try to understand reality from several, and often competing systems of interpretation (Heide, 2009, p. 46). To achieve the consciousness discussed, Berger proposed a guide that consisted of his four motifs: Debunking, Unrespectability, Relativization, and Cosmopolitan. From reading the textbook, I could gain an understanding of Berger’s four motifs. Having an understanding not only helps me with applying understanding to everyday situations that I may occur in my life, but it also helps with giving an understanding to others around me who could also be affected.

While I gained an understanding of the content, putting all my information together in SoundCloud was not the easiest task for me. I am not very technology savvy, therefore learning innovative ways of technology sometimes takes me longer than expected. However, after researching how to affectively use Soundcloud, I could successfully record my voice while discussing a Black Lives Matter protest that took place in Charleston, South Carolina, and how Peter Berger’s thoughts on language applies to that protest. Overall, what really helped when it came to using SoundCloud was knowing I could pause at any time in the recording. I did not feel the pressure of knowing I would not be able to pause, just in case something unexpected came up. SoundCloud is a good media production tool to use. Media production takes time to produce, but the outcome of excellent quality work is worth it.

For other assignments, I only had to use YouTube, WordPress, Microsoft Word and Microsoft Powerpoint. So, of, course, for this project, I had to push myself far beyond my previous skills. I had to learn how to record myself using SoundCloud, how to upload it, and how to use the Soundcloud embed code to embed the SoundCloud within my blog post. Overall, the project has been a learning experience. From learning about Peter Berger’s theory and how it applies to my everyday live to how to successfully use SoundCloud, I learned a lot.

Below is my SoundCloud audio on applying theory to practice. Check it out:

Reference

Heide, M., (2009). On Berger: A Social Constructionist Perspective on Public Relations and Crisis Communication. In Ihlen, O., van Ruler, B., & Fredriksson, M. (Eds.), Public relations and social theory: Key figures and concepts (pp. 43- 61). New York: Routledge Taylor & Francis Group.

Hundreds call for racial justice in downtown Charleston protest. (2016, July 13). Retrieved May 30, 2017, from http://www.live5news.com/story/32440923/hundreds-call-for-racial-justice-in-downtown-charleston-protest

 

 

Author: Dekira Hemingway

Twenty-three | Travel Addict | Queens University of Charlotte graduate student

Leave a Reply

